World War II in the Netherlands

Hello everyone, my name is Stefan (31) and I am from the Netherlands. I work as a history teacher and love to travel and visit places where history took place. I have my own non profit Youtube channel. I wanted to kick off the first topic with my own country by sharing some stuff. I live and work near the Grebbeberg. The place where the Dutch army fought against the Germans in May 1940. I wanted to share some photos of that, see below.

I also do reenactment of the Dutch army of 1939-1940. (As well as the Dutch colonial army 1939-1942 but I’ll post that in another topic.) Below you see some older photos of me in Dutch uniform. When I graduated from film school I made my graduation movie with these people. The upcoming time I would like to share some stuff about the Netherlands in WW II. Feel free to contribute.

Cheers!

IMG_3038

Militair ereveld Grebbeberg. (Military cemetary)

5 Likes

IMG_305933
Reconstructed trench and authentic casemate on the Grebbeberg.

2 Likes

ReenactmentNLP19391940KLEIN
Here some photos of my during events. Top left is on the 4th of May on the Grebbeberg during Memorial Day. Top right is inside a casemate. Below is the ‘wielrijder’-brigade. Dutch troops on bycicle with carbine. On top photos I am Dutch infantry.

3 Likes

[SPOILER FOR 1944]
Battle of Overloon

Having failed to secure a crossing into Germany via the Rhine with Operation Market Garden, the Allies were left in a dangerously small salient in the Netherlands, constantly being harrassed by German attacks coming mostly from a bridgehead the Germans had secured on the river Meuse (Maas in Dutch), at Venlo. To the west of Venlo there were bogs and canals, securing that flank for the Germans. The Allies therefore decided to attack it from the north. To do this, they had to capture Overloon and Venray first. This military goal was laid out in Operation Aintree.