Which rifle was better

In most articles I read about WW2 when it comes to infantry rifles the top 2 contenders are continually the Lee-enfield bolt action rifle and the M1 Garand semi automatic rifle. However there is a lot of contention over which one was better.

I know the Garand was faster firing but it was relatively inaccurate and soldiers had to carry way more ammunition for the weapon. The Lee-enfield bolt action was slower firing but was relatively accurate to fire and is still in production today as both a military and civilian weapon.

So which do you think was better

3 Likes

My question is at what range was the accuracy necessary. At the range of which most engagements happened, both weapons had plenty of accuracy. The M1 was not a sniper weapon and it was a heavy load to carry but the rate of fire could have an impact all of it’s own.

I’m no expert but I think the M1 was a more evolutionary weapon where Enfield was a refinement. I’m biased to the M1. But then I have never been in that situation.

5 Likes

I love the Lee Enfield – it was the first firearm I ever got to shoot (at age 13 … I was barely bigger than the rifle). There’s a reason the British, Canadian, Australian, Indian, and most other Commonwealth/Imperial troops used it for so long (other than bureaucratic inertia and economic cheese-paring).

That said however, Dan’s argument is correct: the Lee Enfield was a great bolt-action rifle, but the Garand was better in most circumstances for WW2 infantry combat.

4 Likes

The concept of best is meaningless as the difference between the rifles is far smaller than the variation among the users.
Weight of fire and accuracy don’t tell you about how quickly wear affects performance or how the 30+cm difference in length affected combat ergonomics.
They both are combat proven weapons that will do the job and that’s all that really matters.

1 Like