Tank destruction modern Ukraine

Is it me or are vehicles destroyed in modern Ukraine seem to be much more mangled than those from WWII? Some of the shots show vehicles mangled all the way down to the chassis which is itself twisted. Many I can’t tell what kind of vehicle it was. Has anyone else noticed this? I wonder if it the explosives hitting the vehicles are much more powerful. Maybe detonations of stored ammo where they have more rounds and more powerful ammo in the vehicles. Or maybe an observational bias because the more wrecked something is the more it gets shown.

2 Likes

There are several reasons for this but I am no expert so others can expand or refute my comments.

1. Russian tanks are built extremely well but like all modern tanks the armour up top is thinner than the sides and bottom of the tank and is easily penetrated by modern anti tank systems which exposes its Achilles heel. Unlike most western tanks where ammunition is stored in a separate compartment that is designed to explode outward protecting the crew Russian tanks have the ammunition stored in open racks right beside the crew and when it’s hit it’s game over.

2. BMPs, Armoured personnel carriers and other armoured vehicles the Russians use all have that same Achilles heel the Russian tanks do in that ammunition is stored in the open and when hit it is likely the reason many of these vehicles are virtually unrecognizable. Western vehicles focuses more on crew survivability Russian vehicles rely heavily on fire power and brute force.