Effects of WW2 on current Polish population

The past few WW2 videos have gotten me to thinking. During the invasion and following years of occupation, the Germans attempted to remove anyone with a disability from the population. Learning disabilities, genetic disorders, etc. It’s horrific what they did to the Polish population.

I have a question though regarding a very cold and unpopular theory. Although what the Germans did was reprehensible and should never have been done, has anyone ever seen any research on how it changed Poland’s future population? The sad truth is that the Germans did remove a fairly substantial percentage of the population with disabilities from Poland, many of which had traits that are passed down genetically through the generations. Has this had any effect on the Polish population in the area of general heath and well-being or education? Are there any observable differences due to the purge of individuals with disabilities?

2 Likes

I’m no expert, but I’d like to give my input.

I think most people with disabilities that Hitler killed had disabilities that happened through mutation or accidents, not primarily hereditary diseases. This means that even if they had been spared, they A. wouldn’t have had offspring due to being “undesirable” (to put it bluntly) or B. their offspring wouldn’t have the same disabilities as them. Because of this, the impact on the Polish population of today didn’t (according to my very debunkable theory) change drastically if you’re talking about people with disabilities.

3 Likes