1936 01 Chinese Civil War & Spanish Civil War and the Anti-Comintern Pact

Author: Not Decided

Please post any ideas or research for this episode that you want to contribute in this topic. If the episode hasn’t been assigned to an author yet, you can note your intent to write in the string too, and we will contact you to discuss.

1 Like

I’m a history student who is on exchange in Bilbao, Spain, and I would love to try and contribute to this episode. I’ll take a look through my docs in the coming weeks.

Considering the importance of the SCW to the rest of the century I’m a little shocked that it’s only getting half an episode, is there a reason it’s getting shorted?

2 Likes

We really don’t need to discuss the situation in China in this episode. There are already 3 episodes (1925. 1931, and 1937) devoted to China prewar. All these episodes will be dealing (to some extent) the machinations of Mao Zedong and Chiang Kai-shek. The SCW is critical to this period and needs its own episode

1 Like

It’s not getting shorted - this episode will be mainly about the Spanish Civil War. We’ve listed it as one episode, but there is a great chance/risk that this will end up being more than one epode once we start writing. Personally I would love to dedicate a whole series to the Spanish Civil War, it’s so important as a proxy war building towards WWII and often not covered properly. Unfortunately we have limited resources and time…