1924 02 Sport, health and fitness

Author: Not Decided

Please post any ideas or research for this episode that you want to contribute in this topic. If the episode hasn’t been assigned to an author yet, you can note your intent to write in the string too, and we will contact you to discuss.

2 Likes

Hello Spartacus,

I’m a military historian and I did my master thesis about what kind of influence the dutch conscription, and army setup, had on the dutch male youth. More specifically the dutch politically and military discussion* on what version (Prussian vs. Swiss) they should implement.

• The discussion (±1860- ±1914) was about the length of the conscription, how large the army should be and how the army should look; by Prussian example (long conscription with a professional standing army but small) versus the Swiss (a short conscription and a large peoples/militia army).
    This discussion changed at the end of the century and started to include the question how to prepare the young men for conscription. This led to the rise of school gymnastics, scouts, sportclubs and cadets.
    Eventhough my thesis was about the Netherlands i say large similarities around Europe.
    WW 1 caused a pause instead of being purely a break in ideas and outcome. I also saw that the scouting groups pre WW1 were more or less military led and between the wars politically led scouting groups were formed.

Maybe it is an idea about how the rise of the Prussian military and their victory’s (1870) led to the discussion in almost all European countries about their armies and the prepping of youngsters for conscription. Especially the differences before and after WW1.

Greetings from the Netherlands,

Pim

5 Likes